This article describes the procedure for when QlikView Server is migrated to a new domain. In this scenario, the existing QlikView Server that will be moved to a new domain is a single server QlikView Server installation and has a static IP address.
High level procedure:
- Create a backup of all your QlikView Server settings (C:/ProgramData/QlikTech) and of your QlikView documents (*.qvw, .META files and .SHARED files).
- Stop QlikView services.
- Migrate the machine to the new domain
- If the service account is a domain account, change this account and replace it with an account on the new domain that belongs to 'QlikView Administrators' and 'Local Administrators' group. (Note: be sure the same account is used for all services, or you may encounter an authentication related issue and not be able to see any documents when doing the collaboration objects piece below.)
- Restart services.
- Configure the DSC (Directory Service Connector) in the management console and add the new domain name/remove the old domain name so that it can find users from the new domain.
- Check that access rights on QlikView files are correctly configured (QlikView Access rights settings through DMS mode and/or section access usually contain the domain name and username)
- Make sure that distribution tasks are distributed to the users on the new domain.
If the hostname has to change..
Changing the hostname of the QlikView Server requires a change of the references to the hostname for each service. See Migrate and restore your backup
in the QlikView upgrade and migration section on our Help for details.
What happens to assigned CALs?
CALs will not automatically refer to the new domain\ prefix. You will need to manually re-assign them.
Refer to the Power Tools
for QlikView and the User Management.NOTE:
The CALs will not be available for 7 days; no exceptions. Plan to perform the migration period during an appropriate date range. The only possible alternative to avoid the quarantine is to completely clear the license and then, after reapplying it, reassign all the CALs.
Can Collaboration Objects / User Objects be migrated?
If Distribution Lists need to be changed in bulk